Identifications of Centennial Calendar Images: August 2011

Images in A Century of Variable Star Observing: 1911-2010

August 2011: AAVSO members, observers, and friends

Row 1: Nobel Laureate Riccardo Giacconi (then Director, Space Telescope Science Institute) at the dedication of the Birch Street Headquarters, announcing during his keynote speech that he is giving a portion of his discretional observing time on the Hubble Space Telescope to amateur astronomers, August 6, 1986; Director Arne A. Henden presents AAVSO Treasurer Louis Cohen of Cambridge with the 38th AAVSO Merit Award October 28, 2006; Council meeting coffee break in 25 Birch Street library October 1993, former President David B. Williams, Past President and Secretary Martha L. Hazen, Mark T. Adams (at window), George Wallerstein University of Washington), President Thomas R. Williams of Houston, Texas, Clerk Michael Mattei, 2nd Vice President Paul L. Sventek of Calgary, Alberta, Canada; former Council member and observer Thomas A. Cragg of Coonabarabran, NSW, Australia;

Row 2:  Spouses Bruce McHenry (National Park Service, retired) and former President and Secretary Martha L. Hazen of Belmont, Massachusetts; AAVSO Technical Assistant Michael Saladyga, former Council member Kristine M. Larsen (Central Connecticut State University), and former President Dorrit Hoffleit (Yale University) at CCSU on the occasion of Dorrit’s induction into the Connecticut Women’s Hall of Fame and her receipt of an honorary degree from CCSU; former Council members Mario Motta, M.D. of Gloucester, Massachusetts, and Margarita Karovska (Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics); Roy Lee of Cocoa Beach, Florida, and former 2nd Vice President Edward A. Halbach (Mike Mattei in background) construct shelves and counters for the 25 Birch Street Headquarters;

Row 3: Former Council member and Photoelectric Photometry Committee Chair Howard J. Landis of Hampton, Georgia, and photoelectric photometrist and former President Arthur J. Stokes of Hudson, Ohio; former President John R. Percy (University of Toronto) and Janet A. Mattei toast the publication of the AAVSO curriculum Hands-On Astrophysics; in front of 25 Birch Street during the 75th Anniversary meeting August 1986, Janet A. Mattei, Secretary Clinton B. Ford of Wilton, Connecticut, Dorrit Hoffleit, Hungarian Astronomical Society Variable Star Section leader Attila Mizser, and John W. Griesé, III, of Rocky Hill, Connecticut; former President and Treasurer Wayne M. Lowder of Valhalla, New York, Gilbert C. Lubcke of Middleton, Wisconsin, and former President Daniel H. Kaiser of Columbus, Indiana;

Row 4: Hideo Sato (National Astronomical Observatory, Mitaka, Tokyo, Japan), Janet A. Mattei, and Seiichi and Nobuku Sakuma of Kawasaki, Japan; Hilde Luft (Mrs. Herbert) of Oakland Gardens, New York, and former Council member Danie Overbeek of Edenvale, South Africa; Ronald E. Zissell of South Hadley, Massachusetts, and Gamze and Haldun Menali of Quincy, Massachusetts; former Presidents John R. Percy (University of Toronto) and Lee Anne Willson (Iowa State University);


Return to Identifications main page

Return to AAVSO Centennial Calendar page