awards and honors

2016 AAVSO Awards

The thirteenth AAVSO William Tyler Olcott Distinguished Service Award was presented to Donn R. Starkey

“for his for his enthusiastic commitment to educating and mentoring both the

current and next generation of variable star observers, and assuring the future

success of the AAVSO through his forward-thinking service on Council, lending

Patrons of the AAVSO (historical record)

"Patron" was an honorific used during the early years of the Association, given in appreciation of an individual's significant material, financial, or time and effort contributions in support of the AAVSO.

Today, such contributions are recognized through several named AAVSO honors and awards, and in the lists of benefactors published in the AAVSO Annual Report.

Patrons of the AAVSO 1917-1958

Charter Members

"All those who have signed the Constitution and By-Laws on or before December 31st., 1917, shall be known as Charter Members."

                              —Constituion and by-laws of the American Association of Variable Star Observers, 1917